top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRichard Smith

January 4th 2014 - Thieving Banks



STILL NO CREDIT CARD.

I had to go to the bank today to sort out a direct debit that had been taken in error. How the hell does a company get away with taking my money in error? If I went into the insurance company’s office and walked out with some of their money, they’d call the police. If I said, “Sorry, Officer but I took it in error” I’d still get prosecuted and locked up. The insurance company blamed software issues and apologised for taking the payment twice. As they’re so kind and generous they said they’d not take the February payment and then we’ll be straight. Erm, NO we won’t! So your apology is to keep my money in your bank for another month? I’m going to recall the money and cancel my direct debit, then I’m going to go elsewhere for my car insurance. Maybe I should report them to the police for theft. Technically it is because I didn’t give them permission to take that money out of my account. Knowing my luck I’ll get arrested for wasting police time.

During lunch I decided to try this theft thing out, so I went to the police station and reported it as theft. The police tried to brush me off by saying that I couldn’t, but I insisted. You see, I’d been to the library before going to the police station and was able to present them with the law regarding theft. I’m not going to give up on this one. I’m taking it as far as I can, and you know what? I’m loving it, in a twisted kind of way.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page